Archive for the ‘Club Announcements’ Category


The Catawba Valley Camera Club site has moved to http://cvcameraclub.org

Please bookmark and use the new link to reach the new site.


Read Full Post »

Check out the video “Why Join a Camera Club” by Sam Scherf.
It is listed down the right side under Videos.

Come and visit and check us out.

The Catawba Valley Camera Club meets at 7:00 pm on the first and third Wednesdays of each month in the North Annex of the Arts Center in Hickory.  (See the schedule by clicking on the schedule tab at the top of this page.).  Directions to find us are listed in the right hand column.

Read Full Post »

Hey guys! The photo below of the egret is on the Audubon Wingspan e-newsletter cover is the one of mine that won Top 100 honors for 2012. I’m so excited that Audubon chose to include it.

Thank you for all your kind words and support.

Wink Gaines

Congratulations Wink


Read Full Post »

Last Wednesday one of our club members, John Hildebran,  did a presentation to the club on Location Photography.

Clicking –HERE- will direct you to his presentation using adobe PDF Reader.

Be patient. It takes a while to load.

It was very informative.  Thanks John

Read Full Post »

There as been a schedule change in April.  Please see the Schedule 2013 tab at the top of this page.

Read Full Post »

Here are the winners of the Catawba Valley Camera Club’s Image*ination Photography Contest for 2012.

These photographers were awarded certificates and cash prizes by our club president, Donny Teague at a reception at the Hickory Museum of Art on Friday, January 11, 2013.

Congratulations to all the winners.

Imageination Winners Group 2012

From left to right:

Bonnie Aberle, Jane Miller, Greta Rhuberg, Meryl Johnson-Bell, Sherrie Wells, Casey Lee Setzer. (Sara Case was not present.)


Best of Show: Meryl Johnson-Bell “Back Stairs


Adult Winners


First Place – Jane Miller – “Daddy’s Barn”

Second Place – Sara Chase – “Slate Lake Reflection”

Third Place – Sherrie Wells – “Another Time Another Lace”

Honorable Mention – Sara Chase – “Pacific Gazing in HI”


Youth Winners

First Place – Greta Rhuberg – “Olympic Kayak”

Second Place – Bonnie Aberle – “Inspiration”

Third Place – Casey Lee Setzer – “Long-exposure Fair Ride”

Honorable Mention – Greta Rhuberg – “Fairgrounds”

Read Full Post »

The Image*ination Awards will be January 11, 2013 at 6:30 pm at the Hickory Arts Museum.

Read Full Post »

Older Posts »